How to Get ITIL Certified in 2023: The Complete Guide

ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is the most widely adopted framework for IT service management globally. Getting ITIL certified validates your knowledge and proficiency in using best practices for aligning IT services with business needs.

In this comprehensive guide, I will walk you through everything you need to know to get ITIL certified step-by-step.

What is ITIL?

ITIL is a set of best practices for delivering high quality IT services. It focuses on aligning IT with overall business goals through efficient processes.

Originally developed in the 1980s, ITIL has evolved over decades of real world usage and contributions from experts. The current version, ITIL 4, was released in 2019.

Key concepts covered in ITIL include:

  • IT Service Management
  • IT Asset Management
  • Service Desk
  • Incident Management
  • Problem Management
  • Change Management
  • Release Management

Getting ITIL certified demonstrates your understanding of these key processes to improve IT service quality and efficiency.

ITIL Certification Levels

There are several certification levels in ITIL, each designed for professionals in different stages of their IT service management careers. The main certifications are:

1. ITIL Foundation

  • Entry-level certification
  • Introduces ITIL framework and concepts
  • No prerequisites
  • Exam:
    • 40 multiple choice questions
    • 60 minutes
    • 65% pass score required
  • Cost: $495 USD
  • Lead to higher level ITIL certifications

2. ITIL Managing Professional (MP)

  • For general management professionals
  • Demonstrates ability to apply ITIL concepts
  • Prerequisites:
    • ITIL Foundation
  • Exam:
    • Case study-based complex multiple choice questions
    • 90 minutes
    • 70% pass score required
  • Cost: $569 USD

3. ITIL Strategic Leader (SL)

  • For senior IT leadership roles
  • Strategic viewpoint to driving business value
  • Prerequisites:
    • ITIL Managing Professional certification
  • Exam: Multiple choice questions focused on strategic IT guidance
  • Cost:
    • ITIL SL Strategist: $655
    • ITIL SL Leader: $569

4. ITIL Master

  • Highest level ITIL certification for subject matter experts
  • Demonstrates ability to apply ITIL holistically
  • Prerequisites:
    • ITIL Managing Professional and minimum of 5 years experience in IT leadership role
  • Exam: No fixed format. Personalized to experience of candidate.
  • Cost: Not publicly available

Now that you understand the different ITIL certification levels, let‘s go through the steps to get certified.

How to Get ITIL Certified in 7 Steps

Follow this step-by-step process to earn your ITIL certification:

Step 1: Choose Your Certification Level

Decide which ITIL certification is right for you based on your experience level:

  • ITIL Foundation – For those new to ITSM
  • ITIL MP – For general IT managers
  • ITIL SL – For senior IT leadership roles
  • ITIL Master – For expert-level practitioners

Step 2: Check the Prerequisites

If you are applying for higher than Foundation level, ensure you meet the eligibility criteria:

  • ITIL MP requires ITIL Foundation certification
  • ITIL SL requires ITIL MP
  • ITIL Master requires 5 years leadership experience and ITIL MP

Step 3: Register for the Exam

Create an account on Axelos or an accredited test provider‘s website such as PeopleCert. Select your exam and purchase an exam voucher.

Step 4: Schedule the Exam Date & Time

Choose a test center near you for an in-person exam. For online proctored exams, pick a convenient time.

Step 5: Study Extensively for the Exam

Use resources suggested by Axelos and reputable ITIL training providers. Key materials:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation book
  • Online training courses and mock exams
  • ITIL glossary and process definitions
  • Review key concepts until mastered based on exam syllabus

Step 6: Take and Pass the Exam

On exam day, arrive early at the test center. For online exams, set up your workspace in advance. Carefully read and answer questions. Manage time to attempt all questions.

Step 7: Get ITIL Certified

Once you pass the exam, you will receive an electronic certificate and digital badge recognizing your certification level. Congratulations!

Maintaining Your Certification

To keep your ITIL certification valid, you need to earn continuing professional development (CPD) credits by learning new skills. The requirements are:

  • ITIL Foundation: None
  • ITIL MP/SL: 5 CPD credits annually
  • ITIL Master: 5 CPD per year + show continued leadership growth

The Value of Getting ITIL Certified

Getting ITIL certified brings valuable benefits for both professionals and organizations:

For individuals:

  • Enhanced credibility and resume
  • Improved job prospects and security
  • Higher salary potential
  • Ability to bring more value to organizations

For organizations:

  • Increased IT efficiency and cost savings
  • Improved customer experience and satisfaction
  • Better alignment between IT and business needs
  • Faster value realization from IT investments

In today‘s digital age, ITIL skills are highly sought after globally. Getting certified can be a strategic move to boost your career as well as your organization‘s success.

I hope this guide gives you clarity and confidence to get ITIL certified. Wishing you the very best!