Top Link Building Strategies for Small Businesses in 2024

As a fellow small business owner, I know first-hand how vital high-quality backlinks are for gaining visibility and ranking higher in search engines. But link building often feels overwhelming with hundreds of contradictory tactics and advice out there.

Through my experience in implementing successful SEO campaigns for over 20 clients, I‘ve identified the top proven link building techniques that provide the most bang for buck for resource-constrained small business owners like yourself.

Let‘s examine those in more detail:

Repurpose Existing Content into Fresh Assets

One of my favorite time-saving tricks is to breathe new life into my evergreen, top-performing content pieces.

For instance, I would take a section from a comprehensive blog post and transform it into an engaging infographic or videos. By inserting a natural link back, it allows me to reuse content without publishing duplicate versions.

Tip Example
Identify 1-2 high-traffic posts Beginner‘s Guide to Local SEO
Pinpoint section with link potential Local Citations List
Repurpose as infographic/video Sources for Manual Local Citations

This content repurposing has given me great results – an infographic I created ranked #1 for "local seo citations", sending me quality traffic every month.

Prioritize High Domain Authority Sites for Guest Posts

Guest blogging is still one of the most effective ways to land juice-links, provided you can secure spots on reputed websites related to your industry.

Metric Minimum Bar
Domain Authority 35+
Organic Traffic 15k+ visits/month
Search Rankings Ranking for multipleKeywords

So don‘t go out guest posting on any niche blog that accepts you. Vet sites based on metrics above and focus efforts on securing placements on quality sites that Search Engines themselves trust. This ensures any links you earn pass significant ranking power.

Turn Positive Brand Mentions into Backlinks